Community Events

WEHIA 2013: 18th Annual Workshop on Economic Science with Heterogeneous Interacting Agents

WEHIA 2013
18th Annual Workshop on Economic Science with Heterogeneous Interacting Agents
June 20-22, 2013
Reykjavik University, Iceland
Twitter hashtag: #wehia2013

The 18th Workshop on Economic Science with Heterogeneous Interacting Agents (WEHIA 2013)
offers an opportunity to present the latest research on various aspects of the economy
as a complex system made up of multiple heterogeneous interacting agents.
Research from different domains, at the crossing of various disciplines – economics, psychology,
sociology, computer sciences, engineering, physics - are useful for developing more satisfactory
approaches to (macro) econometrics and (macro) economic theory.
These approaches have already brought some improvement in the understanding of problems facing
the world economy, such as the financial crisis, segregation, unemployment and poverty, and the
need for sustainable development.
The workshop aims to make progress in understanding and solving them.

Sigrídur Benediktsdottir, Central Bank of Iceland
Jon Danielsson, London School of Economics, United Kingdom
Giovanni Dosi, Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies, Pisa, Italy
John Sterman, MIT, United States

Contributions should be in the form of extended abstracts (minimum two pages) or short papers
(maximum 6 pages) and should be submitted as PDF files through the EasyChair Conference System:

February 28, 2013 is the deadline for submissions.

The Scientific Committee will evaluate all submissions abstract and decide on acceptance by March 29, 2013.

Deadline for submission of extended abstracts or short papers February 28, 2013
Notification of acceptance March 29, 2013
Deadline for early registration April 30, 2013
Deadline for full paper delivery May 31, 2013

WEHIA 2013 will be held at the new Reykjavik University premises, close to Nauthólsvík, the beach of Reykjavik.

Reykjavik University
Menntavegur 1
IS 101 Reykjavik

Registration fees:

Regular Rates:
Early registration (payment by April 30th): 290 Euro
Late registration (payment after April 30th): 370 Euro

PhD students rates:
Early registration (payment by April 30th): 190 Euro
Late registration (payment after April 30th): 270 Euro

Fees cover access to all sessions, conference material, lunches, coffee breaks, and one-year membership
fees to ESHIA, including a one year subscription to the Journal of Economic Interaction and Coordination.

WEHIA PhD School
A PhD School will be held prior to the WEHIA 2013 workshop, from June 17th to June 19th. It will be organized
as a three-day Summer School on WEHIA-related topics. The PhD School will be free of charge for registered participants
of the WEHIA 2013 workshop. The number of seats available is however limited and participants will be admitted on
the basis of CV and recommendation letters.
Further details about the Faculty of the School, the themes, and the application procedure will be provided soon.

Brynhildur Davídsdóttir , University of Iceland, Iceland
Einar Jon Erlingsson, Reykjavik University, Iceland
Hlynur Stefansson (co-Chair), Reykjavik University, Iceland
Jon Thor Sturluson, Reykjavik University, Iceland

Silvano Cincotti, University of Genoa, Italy
Marco Raberto (co-Chair), University of Genoa, Italy
Andrea Teglio, University Jaume I, Spain

Shu-Heng Chen (co-Chair), Chengchi University, Taipei, Taiwan
Mauro Gallegati (co-Chair), Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
Thomas Lux (co-Chair), University of Kiel, and Kiel Institute for the World Economy, Germany
Akira Namatame (co-Chair), National Defense Academy, Yokosuka, Japan
Simone Alfarano, University Jaume 1, Castellon, Spain
Hideaki Aoyama, Kyoto University, Japan
Siew Ann Cheong, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Silvano Cincotti, Università di Genova, Italy
Brynhildur Davíðsdóttir*, University of Iceland
Domenico Delli Gatti, Catholic University of Milan, Italy
Giorgio Fagiolo, Scuola Superiore Sant’ Anna, Pisa, Italy
Tony He, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Cars Hommes, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Taisei Kaizoji, International Christian University (ICU), Tokyo, Japan
Rosario Nunzio Mantegna, University of Palermo, Italy
Marco Raberto, University of Genova, Italy
Massimo Ricottilli, University of Bologna, Italy
Enrico Scalas, University del Piemonte Orientale, Alessandria, Italy
Frank Schweitzer, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
Hlynur Stefánsson, Reykjavik University, Iceland
Annick Vignes, Université Paris II Pantéon-Assas, France
Nick Vriend, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Wei Zhang, Tianjin University, P.R.C.
* (to be confirmed)


This website uses cookies and Google Analytics to help us track user engagement and improve our site. If you'd like to know more information about what data we collect and why, please see our data privacy policy. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.